Swapping Fluval 306 for 406 on Roma 240

Aquarium Decor, DIY and Equipment.
User avatar
fr499y
Administrator
Administrator
Posts: 2981
Joined: Sun Jan 28, 2018 16:04 pm
Location: West Midlands
Has liked: 129 times
Been liked: 204 times

Re: Swapping Fluval 306 for 406 on Roma 240

Post by fr499y » Fri Nov 22, 2019 9:07 am

yeah aha! our first one came with a spare and one fitted, the replacement only came with one in a bag and not fitted... so you can picture what happened.
These users liked the author fr499y for the post:
Netsu (Fri Nov 22, 2019 22:25 pm)

User avatar
jacksdad
Senior Member
Posts: 512
Joined: Fri Aug 02, 2019 16:10 pm
Location: Oldham
Has liked: 53 times
Been liked: 113 times

Re: Swapping Fluval 306 for 406 on Roma 240

Post by jacksdad » Fri Nov 22, 2019 13:31 pm

Yes, its a large black O ring, I bought a used 406 and it was drawing in air. Didn't leak, just blew bubbles out of the water outlet every few seconds.
The O ring was somehow letting in air without leaking water, so I bought an uprated one from a seal specialist on ebay, I gave it a light covering of Vaseline before fitting, and its been perfect ever since :)
These users liked the author jacksdad for the post:
Netsu (Fri Nov 22, 2019 22:26 pm)

User avatar
Netsu
TOTM Winner
TOTM Winner
Posts: 252
Joined: Mon Aug 12, 2019 10:43 am
Has liked: 82 times
Been liked: 56 times

Re: Swapping Fluval 306 for 406 on Roma 240

Post by Netsu » Fri Nov 22, 2019 22:26 pm

Yes I’ll definitely remember to put that on!

I have silicon grease which I have been using on the 306.

Post Reply