Rescue and release

A place to keep us informed of the goings on in your ponds.
DaisyGLam

Hello first post here, 

We rescued a goldfish just over two months  ago from my cats mouth. 
We named him lucky because he had somehow survived from a pond snatching by my naughty cat jasmine and been quite badly bitten and played with. I’m very low on money and have done the best for him and he’s made a really good recovery. He ended up pooping out his side as jasmine pulled a bit of his guts out but now hes pooping normally and it’s all good colour. 
The time has come where we need to return him to a pond as he will of course continue to grow as he’s a common goldfish. 
I wanted to speak to some people about advice as I’m totally new to fish keeping and very lost!
We’re going to ask if anyone we know has a pond or failing that post online for a forever home for lucky. 

1. Anything to look out for in the pond/persons to give him to? I like to think he’s a fighter but I care about all creatures and don’t want him going to someone who’d abuse him and keeping pond life is TOTALLY out of my brain zone
2. Any final things to look out for health wise in him? He’s been eating fine all injuries and scales have grown back and he’s beautifully shiny and responsive. He’s lost a lot of his orange and gone more silver with orange patches but I only assume this is the change in water and algae from pond to tank.

I’m sorry if I sound stupid or I’ve done something wrong, it was either another chance of life or jasmines midnight snack. Thank you ? xx
black ghost
Posting Legend
Has liked: 308 times
Been liked: 1387 times

It came from a pond in your (cat’s) neighbourhood. Maybe try to find it? Ask locally. The local shops that sell pond stuff might know customers with ponds near you... or try Google Earth maybe, if you have a nice big screen. You never know.