Advice needed on fish health

Just started on your fishy adventures, ask for help in here.
LCB

Advice needed on fish health

Post by LCB »

Hello, I am new to fish keeping and have a number of questions regarding fish health. Many thanks for any answers or suggestions.

Background: I have a 46 litre (10 gallon) fluval tank, which I started using in September, I usually do around a 15-20% water change every week (with tap water conditioner). Since I started 5 fish have died: 2 sucked onto filter (I need to get a filter screen), one whose stomach became bloated (Dropsy?), one from being put in the new tank when I first started, and one for an unknown reason.

This left me with 10 fish: 3 dumbo guppy’s, 1 sailfin molly, 5 neon tetras and 1 pleco. Then 5 days ago I acquired 2 more: 1 sailfin molly & 1 guppy (different type). Current water conditions using a stick which I tested today. KH 10, Nitite 0 , Nitrate 0, PH 7.6, GH 14 (Live in hard water area). After this test I did a 30 – 40% water change (recommended by the fish shop as they identified some ammonia in the water I took in for them to test).

My questions:
About 2 months ago one of my tetra’s developed a white blob on its mouth and a tiny bit of white on it’s tail (I will try and post a pic). I used 3 weeks of ‘anti-fungus & white spot’ treatment at ½ recommended doseage (on the advice of the fish shop). There was no change. I was then advised to stop all treatment and let it heal. Over 5 weeks later it looks just the same – no better and no worse. Behaviour and feeding all normal.
1) Do I need to take any further action for this tetra?