Lowest water temperature tropical fish can survive

Request information on fish, plants or other aquarium issues.
Chris93

Hi all đź‘‹

Just have returned from the holidays yesterday, to find out that absolute disaster happened to my fish tank.

To shortly introduce to my fish tank, it’s just a generic 70l. Which I filled with the fine sand from b&q and fluval plant substrate, then added some rocks and driftwood. Planted with about six different plants (im not good at remembering their names) and bunch of Java moss.

As a water parameters are super stable, for about a year I would change water once every couple of weeks, when I felt like substrate could do with some cleaning. I don’t change filter cartridges at all, just flush them with used water.

Unfortunately, after arriving back home after eight days, I found out that electrics went off and central heating switched off as well.

I rushed to the tank to find out that six neon tetras, two guppies, a bristlenose pleco and one molly sadly died.
However, two mollies and three amano shrimps survived.

Water temperature was only 9 degree Celsius and looks like heating went off at least four days ago, when temperature outside was even lower.

I tested the water and despite some of fishes starting to decompose quite a bit, only nitrates risen slightly, but still below 50mg/l. Oxygen levels must stayed fine too, as none of survivors were gasping. Maybe low temperature slowed ammonia growth down?

This sad event left me with question I struggle to find answers to.
What’s the lowest water temperature tropical fish can survive for several days? I can only find advices regarding recommended temperature.
Why molly and amano shrimp seems to be more robust, when recommended temperatures for them are similar to other species?
Martinspuddle
Forum Jester & TOTM Winner
Forum Jester & TOTM Winner
Has liked: 4252 times
Been liked: 3917 times