Sand Depth & Egg Crate

Aquarium Decor, DIY and Equipment.
Sixo
Posting Legend
Has liked: 536 times
Been liked: 323 times

So I’m looking for a little advice on sand quantities & depth.

My new tank is a 4ft Juwel Rio 350 which has the following dimensions:

As it stands I’ll be transferring roughly 20kg of sand from my existing setup, which I know probably won’t be enough, I just trying to work out how many kilos of sand would give a decent coverage.

When I bought the tank the seller also gave me some egg crate with it, although I’m not sure if I actually need this?

I’ve never used it before, I’ll mostly be using bogwood and the odd rock or two. But I wasn’t sure if
1) it’s ok to have egg crate underneath sand with corydoras snuffling about.

And

2) would the egg crate cause harmful bacteria pockets of sand?

Stephen
Guru Multi TOTM Winner
Guru Multi TOTM Winner
Has liked: 1422 times
Been liked: 3421 times

Hi Bri

I'm using 40kg of sand on my 425L which gives me a nice depth (deeper at the rear).
I would suggest approx 30kg would give a similar effect on your Juwel 350L.
As I have some live plants then I also have a 1cm layer of Tropica Substrate (previously called plant substrate) under the sand.

I'm not using 'egg crate'.
Egg crate is great if your using heavy objects such as large stones as it helps distribute the weight and protect the base glass.
I would say if you can lift your rocks with one hand then egg crates are not necessary as they'll sit on the sand.

All the best
425L SeaBray Elite aquarium - Rio Mamoré (Bolivia) theme
4 x Cupid Cichlids, 13 x Cory caudimaculatus, 10 x Cory sterbai 49 x Reed Tetra, 4 x Honeycomb Bristlenose (L519)

Powered by EHEIM
Andys temperate tank
Tank of the Year Winner 2020-21
Tank of the Year Winner 2020-21
Has liked: 4378 times
Been liked: 2896 times

I've had egg crate under my substrate for over 2 years Sixo. Mine has some large pieces of bogwood cable tied to it. Never had a problem.