Live/Frozen Food Advice?

Food, feeding and diet.
Bryan_D
TOTM Winner
TOTM Winner
Has liked: 121 times
Been liked: 135 times

I’d like to improve the diet of the fish in my CT and try some live or frozen options.
I’ve heard they can be very beneficial so I thought I’d ask her for some advice as I’ve never tried any before.
My CT will soon have a Rainbowfish majority, so it’s primarily for them I’m thinking of.
At the moment I’m using Fluval bug bites colour enhancing flakes and the bug bite tropical pellets but wound like to provide a more varied diet.
I don’t know my bloodworm from my brine shrimp from my Daphnia!
Freeze-dried, live or frozen?
Any suggestions or advice?
Andys temperate tank
Tank of the Year Winner 2020-21
Has liked: 4378 times
Been liked: 2896 times

I don't like flake foods.

To feed my fish I take 150ml of water from a tank into my gamma feeding bottle. 1 cube of bloodworm and a cube of lobster eggs, some oase organic colour granules, NT labs catfish pellets then 0.75ml of seachem nourish and 0.75ml seachem garlic guard.

Leave it on the bench for 15-20 mins to defrost then feed my 2 tanks from the one bottle.
64l kitchen tank: 16 golden tetra.
5ft 425L: 3 blue angel fish, 30 rummie nose tetra, 20 black neon tetra, 1 longfin bristlenose plec, 2 corydoras sterbai, 24 corydoras duplicareas,2 SAE.
plankton
Super Mod
Super Mod
Has liked: 5069 times
Been liked: 3427 times

Freeze dried need a good 20 min soak before feeding or they can remove water from the fishes' digestive systems and cause problems, so I avoid them.
I also avoid flake and use granules/pellets. I've had fewer problems since I changed.
I have trouble sourcing live food locally, so use frozen - defrost as above (but I only use the food as I use garlic every 3-6 months depending on what's going on).
If at first you don't succeed....
...get someone else to do it! :D

Enjoy your fish, shrimps and snails!
Ian
John Linklater
Has liked: 250 times
Been liked: 90 times