Help With Neon Tetras Dying Please

DrawsWithLight
Has liked: 2 times
Been liked: 6 times

Hi all, I’m a new member but have been lurking for some time prior to my purchase of an aquarium and fish!

I have an ongoing issue with my Neon Tetras dying! I had them for just over two weeks and noticed on the Sunday morning a few seemed to be missing. I searched around the tank and found one of them in the plants, it had been dead for some time (pic below). I’m new to the hobby and I’m unsure how long it takes for a fish to decompose to this stage so can’t be sure when it died? Searching the tank further I found two more dead! Late that evening another Tetra seemed to be suffering and died later in the evening.

On the preceding Friday I added Microbe-Lift Special Blend and Thera P (Maidenhead Aquatics own products), and on the Saturday Microbe-Lift Plants Green. I also did a water test and there were 0 Ammonia, Nitrites and Nitrates. All fish seemed to be well.

I went to Maidenhead Aquatics on the following Monday, where I purchased all the equipment and fish, but they were stumped as to what has caused the sudden deaths. They did suggest the water temperature was a bit low at 22° and suggested raising it to 26°.

The following Wednesday another Tetra died.

I thought whatever had caused the deaths had passed but this evening, almost a week after the last death, another Tetra is showing signs of illness. This one has white ‘stuff’ towards the tail and is showing signs of stress.

As far as I can tell I’m doing everything correctly? The tank is a good size, 125l, with a Fluval 307 filter, with (originally) 12 Tetras and 6 corys and plenty of plants. The water is on the hard side but Maidenhead said this wouldn't be an issue. The plants are doing really well and I've not had any algae issues apart from some brown algae and bio film.