Absolute noob need help

OhMyFry83
Has liked: 4 times
Been liked: 4 times

Hello there fellow fish lovers :] I'm desperately looking for some answers, I have watched and read quite a bit about starting planted aquarium but I'm sitting here with even more questions :banghead: I have 15 gallon tank in which I'm planning to have quite few plants some wood and rock probably dragon rock, for the substrate I have got fluval stratum. I'm planning to use co2 system from the start.
Now my question how often should I change the water through the cycle? Also should I add something like live bacteria start up and If so than how often?
Same goes for liquid fertilizer should I start dosing every day?
I really don't want to screw this up guys, help!
;)
Sometimes even fish need water ::crazy::
fr499y
Admin - TOTM Winner
Admin - TOTM Winner
Has liked: 1792 times
Been liked: 4246 times

https://www.aquariumforums.co.uk/aquarium-cycling

Have a read through this guide, hopefully will answer a few questions you have.

You can use co2 and ferts from the start, which will also help remove excess nutrients.

Oh and welcome to AF-UK
plankton
Super Mod
Super Mod
Has liked: 5072 times
Been liked: 3430 times

Welcome to the forum. :D
Just be careful with CO2 during the cycle as it can (if your water is soft anyway) stop the cycle from working when all the carbonates get used up. ;)
If at first you don't succeed....
...get someone else to do it! :D

Enjoy your fish, shrimps and snails!
Ian
OhMyFry83

Thank you I will keep this in mind ;) but then I think I'm safe when it comes to hardness as mine is more on the other side of the spectrum :)
What is your opinion on the frequency of water change during the cycle? from what I gathered first week 50% every day then every second day in week 2 and so on....