adm's 1st tank

A place to keep us informed of the goings on in your tanks. - Tank Logs.
adm
TOTM Winner
TOTM Winner
Been liked: 91 times

I have been mooning around in the Newbie section, asking countless questions and receiving the benefit of much wisdom.

I have now got my first ever tank up, running and cycling. I am still very much a newbie, but thought that now it is all running I should start a tank log.

My goal with this is really to make something beautiful as well as learning how to keep fish and create aquascapes. I kept seeing pictures of lovely aquascapes on the web and of course the more I looked at them, the more they kept popping up. Google is quite scary sometimes. But it did make me wonder if I could do that, so I took the plunge. I do a lot of Zoom calls from home at work and I thought that a gorgeous aquascape as a backdrop would be quite neat.

Anyway....some information about me. I used to be an engineer but ended up in management of technical businesses. I love the high tech approach to everything even if it isn't justified. I always overthink things, plan in detail and I guess I am pretty anal/OCD....

But going against those lines, I happened to be driving past a garden centre the other day that had a "World of Water" franchise, so on impulse I stopped to see if I could chat with someone. Error, I know....but I did end up impulse buying an Aqua One 130L Horizon tank as I thought it had quite clean lines aesthetically. In hindsight, had I researched this some more, I would have gone for something with even cleaner lines, but it will be just fine for now.