What is this on my Puffers eyes? Photos......

berni29
Been liked: 1 time

Hi There

I have cross posted this to the puffer forum.......

I am new to F8 puffers, but not to keeping aquarium fish. This is my first brackish effort, but I have kept marines before.

I had a small tank with pea puffers in but sadly lost these due to an equipment failure. The tank was OK, but it lost heat. So that was corrected, left for a couple of weeks and the water tested. The tank had been going about 2 years, and I am a low maintenance "natural" sort of guy.

So I bought a single F8 and a Khuli loach.

The next day the F8's eyes are like this. He will not eat but swims around happily. There was quite a bit of live food in the tank when he went in, so ramshorns snails and water louse. Overnight the numbers of these seems to have gone down significantly. But his belly is flat. And I have never seen him heat (in the 2 days I have had him now). Big live bloodworm are ignored.

There is a pile of the very rough rock pictured below. Its on the sand to help break up the waterflow from the overflow filter. Its pretty rough and sharp. People use this stuff in sumps and filters. Has he crashed into it trying to chase a water louse?

Advice please! In very upset and worried about him!

Many thanks in advance....
Berni

berni29

Hi again, apologies for multiple posts, can admin remove the multiples please?

Also he has just eaten a couple of big live bloodworms so I’m much happier about that. He had trouble seeing them though, so it took a couple of goes.

Berni
Martinspuddle
Forum Jester & TOTM Winner
Has liked: 4263 times
Been liked: 3921 times

Greetings :] & welcome to AF-UK

To me it looks like a bacterial infection. Can you post your aquarium water parameters please.
berni29 wrote: Sun Jan 28, 2024 10:54 am This is my first brackish effort, but I have kept marines before.
berni29 wrote: Sun Jan 28, 2024 10:54 am So I bought a single F8 and a Khuli loach.