Water levels

Just started on your fishy adventures, ask for help in here.
Vicstod
Has liked: 4 times

Hi,

I recently purchased a tank for my son that currently has 4 temperate fish. However I keep seeing contradicting information in regards to levels so have turned to here for help and guidance and possible a dummies guide on what is ideal? We are currently 2 weeks in. And using the 5 in 1 strips and then ammonia strips + filter boost.

Going of the above guide, at 14 days our levels appear to be:

Nitrite 0.5
Nitrate 50
Hard 7
Carbon 20
Ph 7.2

The carbon hardness has rose. Any help is appreciated as we begin this journey I want to ensure we are doing what’s needed.
Fish
Has liked: 10 times
Been liked: 9 times

I’m new to fish keeping myself but I do know you want to get an API master test kit as the strips can be unreliable 😊 I also can’t see an ammonia test on there (ammonia and nitrites should be O).
Martinspuddle
Forum Jester & TOTM Winner
Has liked: 4260 times
Been liked: 3919 times

Greetings :] & welcome to AF-UK
Vicstod wrote: Tue Apr 23, 2024 17:53 pm However I keep seeing contradicting information in regards to levels so have turned to here for help and guidance and possible a dummies guide on what is ideal?
There is,

Free download, but I'd suggest reading our guides instead, link: How to cycle your aquarium

You say two weeks, how long is since you added the fish and what species are they?

Also, please post the aquarium size, type. :]
WARNING - DO NOT BREED, FEED OR PET THE PUDDLE! :dodgy2:
--------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------
:swim2: :swim2: :swim2: :swim2: :swim2: :woo: :swim2: :swim2: :swim2:
Vicstod

Fish wrote: Tue Apr 23, 2024 18:05 pm I’m new to fish keeping myself but I do know you want to get an API master test kit as the strips can be unreliable 😊 I also can’t see an ammonia test on there (ammonia and nitrites should be O).